January 2, 2009

Sleep 1, Maudy 0

Posted in Early to rise, Everyday at 8:10 am by ListenMaudy

I overslept this morning. By two and a half hours. Poor Muffin, my alarm went off and I kept hitting snooze for over an hour until he woke up and asked me what my plan was. I said it was to turn off my alarm. He supported that.

In my defense, the first, at least, four times I hit snooze, I was actually asleep. Then I started waking up part-way and incorporating the noise into my dreams. That always gets weird.

I failed my resolution on the second day. That is some sort of record; I’m sure, because I don’t usually make resolutions. Since it’s only a resolution that I committed to myself, I don’t feel too bad. I’ll just try again tomorrow. It’s not like the whole year is unsalvagable simply because I got up at 7:30 this morning.

The main reason that I couldn’t get up at 5 am is that I stayed up too late. I was falling asleep at 3 pm, but we didn’t go to bed until after 11 pm. I know; it’s shocking that I then couldn’t get up happily at 5 am! I still thought I could do it, though, and I dutifully set my alarm last night. Sometimes, I have a lot of faith in myself.

As it turns out, I don’t always deserve it. Oh, well, there’s always tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

