January 4, 2009

Almost a success

Posted in Early to rise, Everyday, Home at 5:45 am by ListenMaudy

Ha! I finally made it back to getting up early! Yay! I got out of bed at 5:20 this morning. Yesterday, I didn’t get up until 8:30-ish; I totally failed. I am thrilled that I got up so early today, though, since I have to go back to work tomorrow. I don’t have the option of sleeping until 8:30, so I may as well get up at 5.

Yesterday, Muffin and I went to go see a house that will be auctioned at the end of this month. I am so excited about buying an auctioned house. The opening bid is a third of what we have budgeted for a house, so we will hopefully be able to get it for a good price.

The house needs a ton of work. There must have been a lot of people living in the house because the layout is crazy, and someone added random walls throughout the house. The garage has been “converted,” so the actual usable space in the house is way smaller than what is listed. We would un-convert the garage since no one ever seems to do a good job on the conversion in the first place. At least, they don’t at our price point.

We would also lose direct access from the garage into the house with the remodelling we would do, but we would add another bathroom and create a master bedroom. I don’t think it qualifies as  a master “suite” since the house has fewer than 1300 square feet of living space. We would wind up with a three bedroom, two and a half bath house with a new kitchen, though. It also has a separate laundry room, which I love.

I have already designed some alternate floorplans in MS Visio for Muffin to check out. They’re rough designs now since we don’t have exact measurements, but they give us  a pretty good idea of what we can wind up with. Next weekend, we are going back to the house and bringing an inspector. I assume that we will have to rewire the entire house, but if there are other major problems, we have to adjust our highest bid at the auction.

I don’t have a lot of faith that we will win the auction. It would be awesome to buy an auctioned house and have the freedom, financially, to do more to the house than we otherwise would. This house is a little small, though, so I won’t be heartbroken if we don’t get it. We’re going to keep looking at normal houses, so hopefully our search can start in earnest this weekend.

Leave a Reply

