October 23, 2009

It’s not that dentists get a bad rap

Posted in Everyday at 5:13 am by ListenMaudy

I went to the dentist on Monday. I don’t normally hate the dentist, but this was pretty bad. I went to get a filling replaced. I had an old silver amalgam filling from when I was in at least high school, maybe middle school. The last time I was in to get my teeth cleaned, the dentist told me that it needed to be replaced.

Dentists have been trying to get me to replace this stupid filling for at least five years, so I figured I might as well. The first dentist told me that the filling was chipping off, which I thought was total crap. I was right, because neither of the next two dentists agreed with that. This dentist told me that the mercury in the filling could stain my teeth and that the filling could eventually split my tooth, even though that was unlikely.

When I got home from the dentist, I was talking to Muffin about whether I should get my filing replaced. I said that it probably didn’t matter if it wound up staining my teeth since no one probably even notices my filling. “I notice it.” Thanks Muffin.

It was only going to cost me $80, and I need to use up my FSA money anyway, so with Muffin’s gentle convincing I decided that I may as well get it done. On Monday, I left work early and headed to the dentist. I didn’t have to wait too long, which has been a nice change at my dentist’s office.

They took me back and got me ready for the filling. They numbed my cheek, and then gave me a local anesthetic shot. After a few minutes, I was feeling numb, so the dentist decided it was time to start. He started drilling, and I could definitely feel it. I winced and jumped as I could feel the drill on my tooth, nerve, or whatever. He said, “You can feel that?” Yes! Well, my yes was more like “uungghh” since I was at the dentist, of course.

He kept drilling.

Who does that?! I kept wincing and squeaking, so he stopped after a few more drills and gave me another anesthetic shot directly into my tooth. Holy eff! That hurt! He waited about three seconds before he started drilling again. Total shock: I could still feel it. I kept wincing and jumping and squeaking, and he asked once again if I could feel it. Is he new? How many people wince and jump and squeak in his chair if they can’t feel what he’s doing?

He gave me another shot directly into my tooth. This time, at least, the first shot had numbed it enough that it wasn’t painful. After that shot, he waited about 12 seconds before starting to drill again. Thankfully, that was just long enough that the drilling wasn’t painful anymore.

The rest of the filling was uneventful, you know except for the ordinary choking, drooling, gagging, and having cold water poured down your neck that I assume happens to everyone at the dentist.

Leave a Reply

