October 25, 2009

A pleasant surprise

Posted in Home at 6:22 am by ListenMaudy

I went to a play last night. A woman from work invited a bunch of her friends from work and outside work, so there were 11 of us total. We met for appetizers at her house before hand, and then carpooled to the show. It was really fun.

It meant that I had to stop working on the house at about 4pm, and I didn’t get home until almost 11pm. That’s a lot of lost time of working on the house, especially when we’re back on a timeline: We want to have our final inspection before Thanksgiving. It’s tight, but actually doable.

When I left, the sink hadn’t been installed because Muffin had come up with a great plan. He cut some tiny tile triangles to fill a couple gaps around the sink. He installed them, and then had to wait for them to set before the sink could go down.

I joked that he could feel free to install the sink while I was gone, but I really expected him to watch ‘COPS’ all night. I did ask him to do a second coat of paint in a small area of one of the bedrooms, though, since I had run out of time.

When I got home, what do you think I found?

It's glorious!

It's glorious!

The sink! It’s installed!

Everything is hooked up, except for the drain. While Muffin was installing everything, he found out that the drain pipe we have is 1/2″ too short. 1/2″! What a pain in the butt. Understandably, he didn’t want to run to the store on Saturday night, so we don’t have a drain yet. That will get installed this morning.

I cannot express how excited I am to get a sink back. It’s been over six months since we had a kitchen, and I am so sick of doing dishes in the bathroom. So sick. This afternoon, we will have a dishwasher! I have been using so many dishes already this morning, just because I can.

Thanks, Muffin!

 

UPDATE:

Muffin got the sink working on Sunday mid-morning! There have still been some issues with the drain; it keeps leaking just a tiny bit. He has taken it apart and fixed it a couple times, but he needs to do it again soon.

I did run the dishwasher this morning! It was so exciting! Hearing water running through our kitchen is kind of terrifying, though.

Leave a Reply

