November 6, 2009

Et tu Maine

Posted in Everyday at 5:42 am by ListenMaudy

I am sick of hearing about Maine. Maine apparently sucks as much as California does now, along with 29 other states where the majority has voted to strip rights from a minority. That is just fantastic.

Gay marriage is one of those issues that I really don’t understand how anyone doesn’t think the way I think. I just don’t get it. I understand that people can be religiously opposed to gay marriage. I don’t agree, but I understand that if you let a book thousands of years old guide your life, it’s going to have some things in there that I don’t agree with. Being opposed to gay marriage isn’t the same as stripping rights away from a minority because of your religious opposition and fear.

I know this has been said before, but I have yet to hear any argument against gay marriage that doesn’t have anything to do with god. I don’t care what god says about gay marriage; that has nothing to do with our laws.

The idea that it will be “taught to children” is ludicrous. What does that even mean? Gay people exist. Taking away their rights doesn’t make them go away, and it doesn’t decrease the chances that your own kid will be gay.

I don’t understand the idea of “protecting” marriage. It’s such a meaningless battle cry. How does gay marriage impact anyone else, besides stimulating the wedding industry? My marriage has nothing to do with anyone else’s marriage. I don’t think that all the failed, sham, abusive, broken marriages that currently exist affect my marriage, so why would anything else?

It’s so hard for me to be clear and concise about this because, as I said, I cannot understand it at all. What are people thinking? I guess that might be part of the problem: I expect that people are thinking. If they really were thinking instead of blindly following an unconstitutional doctrine, then I probably wouldn’t be writing this.

It’s interesting that the state of Washington passed an “everything but marriage” law this week. It’s a step in the right direction, at least, but it will be interesting to see how everything plays out in court. Interesting and, at least for now, depressing.

Leave a Reply

