November 16, 2010

Knitting needles

Posted in Everyday at 8:12 pm by ListenMaudy

I’ve been knitting a lot lately. My mom asked me to knit her a cowl for Christmas, and then my sister asked for a scarf, and my niece asked for one also. That doesn’t sound like a lot, but the yarn my sister wants me to use is currently ocupado.  I’ve been trying to knit the same baby blanket for over three years, and that’s using the same yarn that my sister wants. I thought that I’d only been working on this blanket for two years, but that’s not the case. I started it before my youngest niece was born, and she just celebrated her third birthday. Geez.

Anyway, since my sister wants me to use this yarn, I’m determined to finish this blanket. I don’t want to have to break the yarn in the middle of the blanket just for a scarf, so I’ve been knitting all the time recently. I’m really close to being at a stopping point with this blanket, and then I’ll be able to knit the scarf pretty quickly.

My mom wants a cowl that looks like one that she saw in some magazine, but it looks like it uses knitting needles that aren’t actually manufactured. I need very large, double-pointed needles, but the largest ones you can buy are less than half an inch in diameter. My mom’s scarf needs one inch needles. Since I couldn’t find them, I decided to make them. On Saturday, I spent a few hours carving these by hand, sanding them, and oiling them.

Knitting needles

One inch, handmade knitting needles

I’ve been doing some practice pieces with them, and they work pretty well. I’m quite happy with them. I don’t know if I’m going to be able to make the cowl that my mom is hoping for, but I’ll keep trying.

Leave a Reply

