January 4, 2011

New Year

Posted in Resolutions at 8:44 pm by ListenMaudy

I actually decided to make some New Year’s resolutions this year. I usually don’t. I think the last time I did was probably in high school and only because it was assigned. I decided to set some goals for this year though, and I thought I would post them here. Everybody does it, and it seems like a good way to hold myself accountable, as well as keep a record of my goals and my progress. So here they are:

House goals:

  1. Finish the back bedroom
  2. Make all the bathroom tiles (Also a Personal Goal)
  3. Remodel the master bathroom
  4. Install the backsplash and finish the minor stuff left in the kitchen
  5. Finish the backyard (Put down grass and get rid of our ugly tree bushes)
  6. Have a garage sale on Memorial Day weekend (May 30)

Money Goals:

  1. Pay off the roof (Did I mention we have no roof today? We don’t. We do have 12 months to pay for our hypothetical new roof though.)
  2. Add $5,000 to our emergency fund
  3. Open a Roth IRA

Personal Goals:

  1. Knit at least 24 things (A pair of socks counts as two things. Smaller items, like baby booties may count as one thing, but I haven’t decided yet. It will depend on how I feel. I’m planning on knitting some mittens, so I’ll have to make a decision on that soon.)
  2. Average at least one blog post per week, or write at least 52 posts this year
  3. Sell at least  two ceramic wreaths
  4. Repair my scooter and be able to ride it
  5. Send out Christmas cards!

Some of these goals need a little explanation, so I’ll probably post about them later, as I work through them maybe. I had a hard time keeping my list of resolutions from turning into a to-do list. I need to get new car and house insurance, and I almost added that to my resolutions. Sending out Christmas cards and repairing my scooter are questionable on this list, at best, but I’ve been working on them each for years at this point. Here’s to hoping that making them into resolutions gets them done!

Leave a Reply

