January 25, 2011

Food poisoning

Posted in Everyday, Shorts at 8:12 pm by ListenMaudy

The title to this post is a little misleading, so don’t worry; this isn’t going to be a gross or whiny story about my being sick.

A while ago, I had the following conversation that just about blew me away:

 

Acquaintance (A): I don’t feel good.

ListenMaudy (LM): Maybe you should go home then.

A: No, I mean I really don’t feel good. <eyebrow raising>

LM: Okay, yeah. You can’t go home?

A: Well, my stomach is really upset.

LM: …

A: You know, I don’t feel good at all. I don’t know why; I don’t have the flu or anything.

LM: Maybe you have food poisoning.

A: I can’t have food poisoning. [said like, duh!]

LM: Are you sure?

A: No! I can’t have food poisoning. I’m a vegetarian!

 

ZOMG. I was a vegetarian for 10 years, and I never knew I was immune to food poisoning! I wasted so much time washing my hands and watching out for e. coli contamination. If only I had known!

Leave a Reply

