August 31, 2011

Runnin’ with the devil

Posted in Early to rise at 1:56 pm by ListenMaudy

I started jogging again last week. I haven’t really been exercising since we quit going to the gym early this year, so I figured it was about time to start. I’ve been getting up at 5:30am and going for a run before I get ready for work. It hasn’t been too bad so far, but I’m still working up to a reasonable running time. I started at 10 minutes last week, and I’m up to 12-13 minutes this week. It will take me a few more weeks to get up to 20 minutes. Then I’ll figure out a route that takes me about 20 minutes and run that. If I get faster, I can get home earlier. That’s better motivation for me. I find it depressing when I just have to slog on for 20 minutes no matter what.

Since I have two little dogs, I’ve been feeling guilty about going running and not taking them with me. They need the exercise as much as I do, so today I finally took Figgy with me. I should have taken him when I first started so we could build up together. He was dragging a little, so I cut my run short for him. He also had no idea of what was happening, so I cut him some slack. He did a good job being my running buddy, and he should get used to it pretty fast.

I’m also going to try to get Lothar to run with me, but I’m less sure of success with him. He’s more like me, and when someone tries to make me run, I want no part of it. I’m really hoping I can work him up to it. I might have to go on two runs for a while, one real run with Figgy and one short run with Lothar (and maybe Figgy) to build up Lothar’s stamina. That little chubby-pants definitely needs to go running. See, just like me!

Leave a Reply

